Team Duval welcomes three new school board members

Pictured (from left to right): Cheryl Grymes, District 1; Elizabeth Andersen, District 2; Ashley Smith Juarez, District 3; Darryl Willie, District 4; Superintendent Dr. Diana Greene, Warren Jones, District 5; Charlotte Joyce, District 6; and Lori Hershey, District 7.

Nov. 21, 2018 - Congratulations and a warm welcome to new District 2 Board Member Elizabeth Andersen, District 4 Board Member Darryl Willie and District 6 Board Member Charlotte Joyce after being officially sworn in Tuesday, Nov. 20.

Below are excerpts of their biographies posted on the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF) website. Visit JPEF to read their full bios.

Elizabeth Andersen

Elizabeth Andersen is a former Duval County Public Schools educator, current small business owner, mental health counselor, wife and mother. Raised in Arlington, she attended Arlington Heights Elementary School, Arlington Middle School and Terry Parker High School. Andersen obtained her bachelor of arts degree in English with a concentration in Psychology from the University of Florida. After graduation, in search of a meaningful and fulfilling career path, she decided to become an educator. Andersen taught in Alachua County for one year, but ultimately found her future at home in Jacksonville. She continued her teaching career in Duval County - teaching English at both Terry Parker High School and Edward H. White High School. There, she served as a lead teacher and had the opportunity to participate in curriculum writing and development. As a result, she has a clear understanding of the rigorous academic demands on both teachers and students.

Darryl Willie

Darryl Willie is a proud military child that has attended both low and high performing public schools. He has used the education he was afforded to work passionately for students for the past 15 years. He comes from a family of educators and deeply understands the value and potential of high quality public education. As a former teacher, he has taught in both K-12 and university settings. He knows what it takes to prepare students to be successful on various levels.

In his current role he recruits, selects and trains new teachers and education leaders for Title I schools in Duval County.  His “on the ground” experience has allowed him to partner with Duval County Public Schools Human Resources and certification staff, Principals, Duval Teachers United, parents, veteran teachers and other invaluable community and school-based partners.

Charlotte Joyce

Charlotte Joyce was born and raised in Jacksonville’s Westside. She attended Joseph Stilwell Jr. High (now known as the Joseph Stilwell Military Academy of Leadership) and graduated from Edward H. White High School (now known as the Edward H. White Academy of Leadership). After graduating from the University of North Florida, magna cum laude, with a bachelor of arts degree in political science, Charlotte began her teaching career at Joseph Stilwell and currently serves as the school’s Magnet Coordinator. As an educator, Charlotte has a first-hand appreciation for the joys and challenges that are common to all students and teachers. As Magnet Coordinator, Charlotte has developed an in-depth understanding of academic and discipline data, the budget process, market development, ESE training, student incentive promotions and the need for parental involvement.

Duval County Public Schools would also like to congratulate new Chairwoman Lori Hershey and new Vice Chairman Warren Jones, who were nominated and promoted to their new positions during the Board meeting on Tuesday.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2019 Duval County Public Schools