top of page

Sarah Pasion named 2019 Florida Blue Teacher of the Year

Updated: Apr 10, 2019

Feb. 18, 2019 — Congratulations to Sarah Pasion, a 15-year veteran educator at Sadie Tillis Elementary, who was named the 2019 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The announcement was made at the 28th Annual EDDY Awards, hosted by the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF). The fourth-grade math and science teacher was selected among five outstanding finalists for the honor.

A native of the Philippines, Pasion said that though she is a product of a different cultural background and values -- and from the other part of the globe -- she will always strive to motivate and engage all her students regardless of background and teach them that they can never accept they are destined to do poorly.

Her students, who include emergent bilingual students, have shown remarkable progress in learning math in her classroom, helping Sadie T. Tillis improve its school grade from an “F” to a “C.”

“Ms. Pasion is a truly exemplary educator who not only expertly helps her fourth graders connect the dots in math class, but -- like all great educators -- helps them connect the dots to a lifetime of learning and achievement,” Superintendent Dr. Diana Greene said. “I could not be more impressed with her excellence in teaching, and her clear devotion and dedication that she exhibits for her students. Ms. Pasion is a radiant example of all the amazing and committed educators that comprise Team Duval, who work vigorously every day to ensure that every student succeeds!”

"Ms. Pasion exemplifies the excellence and dedication of so many teachers in Duval County,” said JPEF President Rachael Tutwiler Fortune. “She does extraordinary work in the classroom and as a teacher leader in our school district. I hope all of Jacksonville will join me in congratulating and thanking Ms. Pasion for helping create a bright future for our children."

As the 2019 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year, Pasion will go on to compete for the statewide title. She will also join the JPEF Board of Directors as an ex-officio member for the next year as is tradition with every Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

In addition to the headlining award, the EDDY Awards also recognized 10 teachers in the Florida Blue Spotlight: Jeffrey Bellamy, Mt. Herman Exceptional Student Center; Susan Dougherty, Frank H. Peterson Academies; Cez Erika Generoso, Mandarin Oaks Elementary School; Jeffrey Horton, Oceanway Middle School; Robert Kennedy, Abess Park Elementary School; Meaghan Wilkes, Whitehouse Elementary School; Janelle Wiggins, Alden Road Exceptional Student Center; Aaron Leatherbarrow, River City Science Academy Innovation; Santrice Redding, Wayman Academy Of The Arts; Octavia Sloan, Kipp Jacksonville Elementary School.

The Florida Blue Spotlight teachers, who were selected for demonstrating excellence in the classroom, will receive $500 classroom grants. In addition, Michelle Chambers, an instructional coach at John E. Ford Pre K-8 School, won the Axalta All Pro Teacher award and a $5,000 classroom grant, which went to the semifinalist teacher who received the most votes online. Ms. Chambers received more than 12,000 votes from more than 41,000 votes cast in a two-week period.

The EDDY Awards Teacher of the Year program is an initiative of JPEF to celebrate, elevate and empower Duval County teachers, which includes professional development and networking for all school-level teachers of the year for the entire year.

Editor's Note: The above is a modified excerpt from the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF) press release. Photos are also courtesy of JPEF.


bottom of page