Ctrl + Alt + Delete that old technology: Innovative Educators gifted new touchscreen laptops

Updated: Oct 25, 2018

Oct. 19, 2018 - This morning, 35 outstanding Duval County Public Schools teachers were awarded brand new personalized touchscreen laptops for their achievement in completing the DCPS Innovative Educator Program.

These teachers are the first of more than 380 participants across 81 schools to be nominated by their principals to participate in the exclusive program, which consists of 30 hours of online courses and six hours of face-to-face training focused on Office 365 Applications.

Donna Mathis, a career and technical education teacher at Atlantic Coast High School, was surprised about how much more of an edge she has now after having completed the program.

"I knew a lot about some of the stuff in the course," said Mathis. "However, as I was going through the program, I was uncovering some things that were even new to me and I knew would be advantageous for students."

The laptops gifted to the teachers are the first ThinkPads to have a touchscreen feature for teachers to utilize. This is one feature that math teacher at Atlantic Coast High School, Laurie McDonald, is thrilled about.

"I am super happy to have a new laptop," said McDonald. "Being able to use a touch screen will make everything so much easier."

The rest of the nominated teachers are excited to be the next to complete the DCPS Innovative Educator Program and get their own new touchscreen laptop in the near future. Any teacher interested in the program can contact their school's principal for more information.

Thank you to our very own Crystal Champine, teaching graphic design at Andrew Jackson High School, who designed the custom DCPS Innovative Educator Program laptop cover art.

Congratulations to the outstanding teachers who completed the program:

Ms. Laurie Mcdonald | Atlantic Coast High School

Mr. Edwin Wagner | Terry Parker

Ms. Jesica Pearce | Lake Lucina Elementary

Ms. Ashleigh Haug | Henry F. Kite Elementary School

Ms. Jill Sullivan | Mayport Middle

Ms. Sarah Smith | John Stockton Elementary School

Ms. Carmen Polanco | Alfred I. duPont Middle School

Ms. Faye Hunt | Chaffee Trail Elementary

Ms. Donna Mathis | Atlantic Coast High School

Mr. William Moredock | Oceanway Middle

Ms. Elizabeth Rosario Otero | A. Philip Randolph Career Academies

Ms. Margaret Rogero-Hastings | Mandarin Oaks Elementary

Ms. Laquanda Paschal | Jean Ribault High School

Mr. Brannon Lutz | Sandalwood High School

Ms. Rebecca Geoghagan | San Jose Elementary

Ms. Gina Riley | Loretto Elementary

Ms. Nadine Ebri | Southside Middle School

Ms. Hollie Reno | Abess Park Elementary

Ms. Carie Skube | Jacksonville Beach Elementary School

Mr. Victor Chrispin | Bridge to Success Academy at West Jax

Ms. Mary Dennis-Gannon | Lone Star Elementary

Ms. Mallory Fowler | Ramona Blvd Elementary 

Mr. Joseph Rawlins | Kernan Middle School

Mr. John Vitale | Kernan Middle School

Ms. Karrie Mccary | New Berlin Elementary

Ms. Adrienne Lodico | San Jose Elementary

Ms. Wendy Sanford | Abess Park Elementary

Mr. Paul Carlson | Frank H. Petersen

Ms. Jennifer Eavenson | San Jose Elementary

Ms. Kimberly Niebauer | Loretto Elementary

Ms. Gina Parson | Mandarin Oaks Elementary

Mr. Scott Fretz | Fletcher Middle School

Mr. Peter Berta | Terry Parker High School

Ms. Karen Siegrist | Pinedale Elementary

Mr. Chris Couch | Duncan U. Fletcher Middle

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2019 Duval County Public Schools